Introduction

Updated 13 July 2022

An enhanced photo received by Bill Anderson from the niece of the Flight Engineer, Patrick Gough.


My Dad’s War is not a blog about my dad’s war because my father never went to war…

This blog is about Bill Anderson’s father.

This is Bill’s Dad.

 

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Robert Anderson was a rear gunner with RCAF 420 Squadron. This is his Dad’s crew. Only two survived.

Equipage-Leonard-RCAF-copie

Robert Anderson is in front on the left. His crew was flying this type of aircraft.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Those three images were taken from this website.

https://actu.fr/normandie/hautot-sur-mer_76349/avril-44-le-mystere-jamais-resolu-des-trois-aviateurs-disparus-a-pourville_4320712.html

It’s an article written in 2014. Someone was trying to find three missing airmen.

Avril 44 : Le mystère jamais résolu des trois aviateurs disparus à Pourville. Il y a 70 ans, un avion de la Royal Air Force britannique tombait sous le feu de la DCA allemande à Pourville. Les corps de trois aviateurs n’ont jamais été retrouvés.


April 1944: The unsolved mystery of the three airmen who disappeared at Pourville
70 years ago, a British Royal Air Force plane fell under German flak at Pourville. The bodies of three airmen were never found. I don’t think they found them. However what I found was Robert Anderson’s son and what he had preserved from his father’s past. Everything about his father’s service with the RCAF will be shared here on My Dad’s War.


Note added 29 August 2021

How Bill Anderson and I met virtually was a comment he had made on my blog dedicated to 420 Squadron.

A request

Do you know of any photos of Halifax PT-V, LW692. My Father Robert Allan Anderson was the tail gunner. The aircraft was shot down April 20, 1944 and my Father and Paul Bourcier, the mid-upper gunner, were the only survivors. Both ended up in Stalag Luft III for the remainder of the war.

Leave a comment